Documentary Photographers

Rosa Harvest

I emailed Rosa after researching her work and really loving the simplicity of her images and the way in which she has captured and created a story from her pictures. I asked …

Hi Rosa,
I hope you don’t mind me contacting you. I have just started my first year doing a foundation degree in Photography, our first assignment in contextual studies is to research documentary style photographers and i just came across your work.

I wondered, do you ever “Stage” your pictures? Wait for a person to walk in, clean up a location or move things into shot to create the desired effect?

Where do you get your inspiration from and how do you come up with your ideas on a specific shoot, do you have a guideline to stick to or simply go off and shoot whatever appeals to you?

I hope you don’t mind me asking all these questions and have the time to reply.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Hi Jenny,
Thank you very much for getting in contact with me, I’m very flattered that you would like to know more about my work and am happy to answer any questions you might have.
With my photography I never stage any of the pictures. I have always been a big fan of exploring your surrounding and taking environmental shots that show the true nature of what is around you. Obviously I compose each picture and think carefully about what I think will express best what I am trying to convey but I generally don’t make any physical adjustments to the scene. I put a lot of planning into my projects before I take any pictures so generally I know the environment is going to supply me with the imagery I want, so no adjustments are needed!
In terms of inspiration I tend to come up with a topic or subject that I would like to explore. For me it tends to be mostly social/political topics that I am personally interested in. However I always try and address these from a subjective viewpoint. I will research these topics, source locations, gain access etc. and then head off on my shoots fully prepared and aware of what I want to achieve. As a result my projects can last for quite an extensive period of time but I think it is really important to have guidelines of what you want to achieve in advance as I believe it allows your overall project to show a better sense of continuity.
I hope this answers your questions sufficiently and if there is anything else you would like to ask please do not hesitate to get in touch.
Good luck with your studies!
Best Wishes,
Rosa”
About jenjenmarie

Creating images through photography!
This entry was posted in Contextual Studies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

