Employment, Enterprise and Entrepreneurship

When entering into a Photography Degree there are a number of things to consider that might never have even entered your mind before the biggest thing i think is the fact you will almost certainly be Self Employed.

For me, I am planning on eventually doing Medical Photography but in the interim and possibly even long after i have secured a permanent role within this field, I am certain I will still continue with my own business and so will still have the self-employed element.

I am reasonably lucky, by being a mature student I have in fact already been self-employed and so understand the multitude of things to consider. While it is really lovely to be self-employed and for me it will be even better as this is my dream job, there are plenty of not so great things to think about….Insurance, public liability, tax returns, marketing, regular income and then all the other bits of legislation that you need in place to protect yourself like terms of business, model release forms and so on.

I think the biggest thing for me is promoting myself and the business I am trying to grow. There are so many “Photographers” out there nowadays! The competition is tough and so it is really important to find your niche in the market!

Start by thinking about what your strengths are and then get out there and sell them! Tell the whole world, anyone that will listen, networking sites, promotions and marketing.

It is always a good idea to also think about what else can make you money so consider things like stock photography or Portraits for family and friends, use common events to your advantage like Christmas or Valentines day by and maybe try selling some of your images!

When your self-employed maybe the main thing to remember this quote  “Nothing happens when you sit at home. I always make it a point to carry a camera with me at all times…I just shoot at what interests me at that moment.” – Elliott Erwitt

About jenjenmarie

Creating images through photography!
This entry was posted in Professional Practice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

